

May13, 2014

ONO PHARMACEUTICAL CO., LTD.

President and Representative Director: Gyo Sagara Code No: 4528 at the 1st section of the Tokyo Stock Exchange INQUIRIES: Yukio Tani, Director, Corporate Communications

Announcement on Candidates of Members of the Board of Directors and Corporate Officers

Ono Pharmaceutical Co., Ltd. (Osaka, Japan) announced that its Board of Directors meeting held on May 13, 2014 decided the candidates of members of the Board of Directors and Corporate Officers. The candidates of members of the Board of Directors will be submitted for approval to the 66th Annual Shareholders Meeting to be held on June 27, 2014. The changes and appointments of members of the Board of Directors as well as Corporate Officers will be resolved at the Board of Directors meeting to be held on the same day of the Annual Shareholders Meeting.

- 1. Members of the Board of Directors (as of June 27, 2014): Incumbent Board of Directors will be re-appointed.
- 2. Changes of Corporate Officers (as of June 27, 2014): Except for the following candidates of Corporate Officers, incumbent Corporate Officers will be re-appointed.
 - 2.1 New candidate of Corporate Officer
 - Katsuji Teranishi, Corporate Officer, Deputy Director, Sales and Marketing, Head of Marketing Strategy Planning
 - 2.2 Resigning Corporate Officer
 - Shinpei Futami, Corporate Officer/ Director, General Affairs, Sales Division
- < **Reference** > The followings are the appointments of members of the Board of Directors, Corporate Auditors as well as Corporate Officers (as of June 27, 2014).
 - Candidates of members of the Board of Directors for subject to approval at the 66th Annual Shareholders Meeting

Members of the Board of Directors:

- Gyo Sagara, President, Representative Director, and Chief Executive Officer *
- Hiroshi Awata, Vice President Executive Officer, Executive Director, Clinical Development *
- Kei Sano, Senior Executive Officer, Executive Director, Corporate Management *

- Kazuhito Kawabata, Executive Officer, Executive Director, Discovery and Research & Minase Research Institute *
- Shinji Fujiyoshi, Executive Officer, Executive Director, Sales and Marketing *
- Isao Ono, Corporate Officer, Director, Corporate Research *
- Daikichi Fukushima, Corporate Officer, Director, Tsukuba Research Institute and Advanced Medicinal Research *
- Yutaka Kato, External Board Member *
- Jun Kurihara, External Board Member *

Corporate Auditors:

- Katsuyoshi Nishimura, Corporate Auditor (full time)
- Michio Tezuka, Corporate Auditor (full time)
- Narihito Maishi, External Corporate Auditor
- Yasuo Araki, External Corporate Auditor

Corporate Officers:

- Shozo Matsuoka, Corporate Officer, Director, Medical Affairs
- Hiroshi Ichikawa, Corporate Officer, Director, Tokyo First Branch
- Toichi Takino, Corporate Officer, Executive Director, Corporate Development & Strategy
- Sadanobu Yamashita, Corporate Officer, Executive Director, Production & Distribution
- Katsuji Teranishi, Corporate Officer, Deputy Director, Sales and Marketing,

Head of Marketing Strategy Planning